Header terroir

LOCATION | CLIMATE | FLOOR | WINNER

Terroir

Terroir is more than the sum of its parts.

With its picturesque silhouette, Pulkau is located in the middle of vineyards in the northwestern Weinviertel. Our vines are rooted in the foothills of the Manhartsberg, where from a geological point of view two large units meet - the Bohemian Massif in the Waldviertel and the Molasse zone in the Weinviertel.  

The Bohemian Massif is one of the oldest landscapes in Austria. We are talking about primary rock, which consists of granite and a variety of metamorphic rocks such as gneiss, granulite, graphite, marble and quartzite. The Maissau granite that is predominant in Pulkau was formed as solidification rock around 555 million years ago.  

At the same time, two climatic zones meet in the area around Pulkau - the Pannonian climate of the Weinviertel meets the harsh, cooler climate of the Waldviertel. This unique constellation ensures warm, sunny days and cool nights and thus a distinctive aroma in the grapes.  

In connection with the soil, the region and the climate, as a winemaker you take the necessary steps throughout the year to get the best that nature has to offer from the grapes. That means conscious yield reduction, consistent foliage work and sustainable tillage.

en_USEnglish

Jordan winery

Request price list

Jordan winery

Tasting requests

Tastings are very welcome from Monday to Saturday from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. by appointment.
Wines can be picked up in our pick-up zone on Sundays and public holidays.
In September and October, tasting is only possible to a limited extent due to the harvest.

Jordan winery

Order the Gault & Millau summer package

Jordan winery

Order a tasting package

Header Terroir

LAGE | KLIMA | BODEN | WINZERIN

Terroir

Terroir ist mehr als die Summe seiner Teile.

Mit seiner malerischen Silhouette liegt Pulkau inmitten von Weingärten im nordwestlichen Weinviertel. So wurzeln unsere Reben an den Ausläufern des Manhartsberges, wo aus geologischer Sicht zwei Großeinheiten aufeinandertreffen – die Böhmische Masse im Waldviertel und die Molassezone im Weinviertel.  

Die Böhmische Masse zählt zu den ältesten Landschaften Österreichs. Die Rede ist von Urgestein, das aus Granit und einer Vielzahl von metamorphen Gesteinen, wie Gneise, Granulite, Graphite, Marmor und Quarzite besteht. Der in Pulkau vorherrschende Maissauer Granit entstand als Erstarrungsgestein vor ca. 555 Millionen Jahren.  

Gleichzeitig treffen in der Gegend rund um Pulkau auch zwei Klimazonen aufeinander – das pannonische Klima des Weinviertels trifft auf das raue, kühlere Klima des Waldviertels. Diese einzigartige Konstellation sorgt für warme sonnenreiche Tage und kühle Nächte und damit für ein ausgeprägtes Aroma in den Weintrauben.  

Verbunden mit dem Boden, der Region und dem Klima setzt man als Winzerin über das Jahr hinweg die notwendigen Schritte um das Beste, das die Natur zu bieten hat, aus den Trauben herauszuholen. Das bedeutet bewusste Ertragsreduktion, konsequente Laubarbeit und nachhaltige Bodenbearbeitung.

de_DEGerman

Weingut Jordan

Preisliste Anfragen

Weingut Jordan

Verkostung Anfragen

Weingut Jordan

Verkostungspaket bestellen